Root Chakra: Mūlādhāra

The first of our seven Chakras is our Root Chakra, based at the bottom of our spine, including our legs and feet. It is the Earth element, and represents expansion of life, our basis of survival and grounding/safety. We use this chakra to root down into the earth with our energy and manifest.

Stored here are early memories, including whether or not our basic needs were met. It creates feelings of survival, belonging and protection through family ties bonds. Consequently, it acts as a base to sync all chakras. If this chakra becomes blocked, you may become insecure and hold a fear of survival or the wider world. However, when In balance, it allows security, stability, a sense of belonging & confidence.

  • Element: EARTH
  • Colour: RED
  • Mantra: LAM = ‘I AM’
  • Mudra: GNYAN *Connect thumb and pointer finger, palms down on knees*
  • Asana: VRKSASANA = Tree Prose.

Published by Eve Fox

Stockport based Yoga Teacher. Email for any business enquireies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: